An intergovernmental agreement (IGA) is any agreement made between the Commonwealth and state and territory governments (the states). While IGAs are not legally binding, they express the commitment of governments to work together on certain objectives or goals. For most agreements, the IGA is in effect as soon as it is signed by the Commonwealth and one state or territory.

There are many different agreements that fall under the category of an IGA.

When an agreement involves funding from the Commonwealth to the states for a project, this is covered under the IGA on Federal Financial Relations. This IGA significantly reformed the Commonwealth’s financial relations with the states. It recognised that the states have primary responsibility for many areas of service delivery but that coordinated action is necessary to respond to Australia’s economic and social challenges. Under the IGA on Federal Financial Relations, payments to the states are outlined through schedules to one of five overarching Federation Funding Agreements (divided according to sector), or through one of four National Agreements.

For current and past funding agreements, see the Federal Financial Relations website.

Intergovernmental agreements

The Intergovernmental Agreement on data sharing commits all jurisdictions to share public sector data as a default position, where it can be done securely, safely, lawfully and ethically.
The agreement is to establish a widespread uniform scheme for automatic mutual recognition (AMR) for the purpose of streamlining occupational registration processes where individuals seek to work in a second or subsequent jurisdiction.
This Intergovernmental Agreement supports strengthened collaboration and cooperation between the Commonwealth and the States and Territories to respond consistently and effectively to per- and poly-fluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) contamination.
The Northern Australia Indigenous Development Accord (the Accord) is an intergovernmental agreement to progress Indigenous economic development as a critical part of the Northern Development Agenda.
This IGA builds on the 2008 Intergovernmental Agreement and supports the objectives of the Murray-Darling Basin Plan (the Basin Plan), which passed through the Commonwealth Parliament in November 2012.
This agreement reflects both Governments’ shared responsibility for the National Disability Insurance Scheme and locks in arrangements for both Governments to make ongoing, up-front funding contributions to the scheme.

Council of Australian Governments archive

On 29 May 2020, National Cabinet agreed to the cessation of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). The National Library of Australia's Trove service provides an archive of the COAG website.