Skip to main content

Intergovernmental Agreement on data sharing between Commonwealth and State and Territory governments

The Intergovernmental Agreement on data sharing commits all jurisdictions to share public sector data as a default position, where it can be done securely, safely, lawfully and ethically.

The agreement recognises data as a shared national asset and aims to maximise the value of data to deliver outstanding policies and services for Australians.

The agreement came into effect on 9 July 2021, when it was signed by the National Cabinet.

Following a review of the Intergovernmental Agreement on Data Sharing in September 2023, Data and Digital Ministers agreed amendments to Schedule A and Schedule D on 29 September 2023.

Council of Australian Governments archive

On 29 May 2020, National Cabinet agreed to the cessation of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). The National Library of Australia's Trove service provides an archive of the COAG website.