Skip to main content

Ministerial Councils

Commonwealth and state and territory ministers often work collaboratively on issues specific to their portfolio areas through intergovernmental meetings.

This includes Ministerial Councils, established on an ongoing and regular basis, which provide ministers with a formal channel to resolve key priorities.

Ministerial Councils with reporting lines to National Cabinet are set out in the Australia’s federal relations architecture (PDF 113 KB). These include:

  • Agriculture
  • Attorneys-General
  • Community Services
  • Council on Federal Financial Relations
  • Data and Digital
  • Disability Reform
  • Education
  • Emergency Management
  • Energy and Climate Change
  • Environment
  • Health
  • Housing and Homelessness
  • Infrastructure and Transport
  • Joint Council on Closing the Gap
  • Skills and Workforce
  • Trade and Investment
  • Veterans’ Affairs
  • Water and Murray Darling Basin
  • Women and Women’s Safety

Meetings of Ministers which are not reflected on this list do not report directly to National Cabinet but can meet as needed to progress important regulatory, statutory and priority issues.