An intergovernmental agreement (IGA) is any agreement made between the Commonwealth and state and territory governments (the states). While IGAs are not legally binding, they express the commitment of governments to work together on certain objectives or goals. For most agreements, the IGA is in effect as soon as it is signed by the Commonwealth and one state or territory.

There are many different agreements that fall under the category of an IGA.

When an agreement involves funding from the Commonwealth to the states for a project, this is covered under the IGA on Federal Financial Relations. This IGA significantly reformed the Commonwealth’s financial relations with the states. It recognised that the states have primary responsibility for many areas of service delivery but that coordinated action is necessary to respond to Australia’s economic and social challenges. Under the IGA on Federal Financial Relations, payments to the states are outlined through schedules to one of five overarching Federation Funding Agreements (divided according to sector), or through one of four National Agreements.

For current and past funding agreements, see the Federal Financial Relations website.

Intergovernmental agreements

This Intergovernmental Agreement supports collaboration and cooperation between the Commonwealth and the States and Territories to respond consistently and effectively to per- and poly-fluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) contamination.
The Heads of Agreement between the Commonwealth and the States and Territories on public hospital funding and health reform was considered by COAG and signed by the Commonwealth, New South Wales and Western Australia on 9 February 2018. South Australia, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory subsequently signed the agreement.
This updated agreement on the Provision of Bureau of Meteorology Hazard Services to the States and Territories came into effect on 22 January 2018.
The updated Intergovernmental Agreement on Australia’s National Counter-Terrorism Arrangements came into effect on 5 October 2017.
This IGA, between the Commonwealth and the states, makes it easier for security and law enforcement agencies to identify people who are suspects or victims of terrorist or other criminal activity, and prevent the use of fake or stolen identities.

On 7 December 2009, all states and territories signed the National Credit Law Agreement 2009.

Council of Australian Governments archive

On 29 May 2020, National Cabinet agreed to the cessation of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). The National Library of Australia's Trove service provides an archive of the COAG website.