Ministers’ Meetings

Prior to the review into the COAG Councils and Ministerial Forums in 2020, ministers met as COAG Councils, Ministerial Councils and Ministerial Forums. On 23 October 2020, the National Cabinet accepted the recommendations of the Conran review. Under the new, streamlined architecture, ministers across jurisdictions will meet as Ministers’ Meetings.

Ministers’ Meetings exist in two forms:

  • Regular and ongoing – these meetings are held regularly and will be reviewed every 2 years by the National Cabinet.
  • Time-limited and when needed – these meetings are convened for a maximum of 12 months to deliver on specific priorities before disbanding.

Regular, ongoing meetings

Time-limited and when needed

Guidance for intergovernmental meetings

Council of Australian Governments archive

On 29 May 2020, National Cabinet agreed to the cessation of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG). The National Library of Australia's Trove service provides an archive of the COAG website.