Joint Council on Closing the Gap

The Joint Council on Closing the Gap was established by the then Council of Australian Governments (COAG) in December 2018.

The Joint Council is co-chaired by the Minister for Indigenous Australians, the Hon Linda Burney MP, and the Lead Convenor of the Coalition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peak Organisations (Coalition of Peaks), Ms Pat Turner AM.

It also includes ministers from each state and territory, 12 members of the Coalition of Peaks, and a representative of the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA).